Français
  Register!
Forgot your Password?
Data Entry > < History

Frequencies

Microdata Frequencies by Province

Province Database Case Count Published Total*
Prince Edward Island108,911108,891
New Brunswick321,248321,233
Nova Scotia440,560440,572
Québec1,358,6501,359,027
Ontario1,924,2711,923,228
Manitoba64,84565,954
British Columbia48,88549,459
Territories10,97856,446
Canada4,278,3484,324,810

* With comparisons to published totals from The Census of Canada, 1881, Volume 1, (Ottawa: Maclean, Roger & Co., 1882), Table 1, Areas, Dwellings, Families, Population, Sexes, Conjugal Condition.

Note: The case count for some sub-districts in the 1881 Canadian Census database is slightly greater than the totals included in the published census statistics because the database includes some linesthat were subsequently crossed-out by the enumerator and not included in the 1881 tally.

Ontario

The database includes an excess of 1,051 persons over the number of Ontarians listed in the 1881 published census statistics. This is largely because there are two Ontario communities in which there are 914 more people in the database than are noted in the aggregate statistics, sub-district "f" Newboro Village (in District 110 Leeds South) and sub-district "i" Hastings Village (in District 123 Northumberland East).

Québec

The published 1881 census statistics reports 372 more persons living in Quebec than are included in the 1881 database. This is largely because the sub-district St-Simeon in District Charlevoix, microfilm reel C-13209, was not microfilmed.

Manitoba

The published 1881 census statistics list 563 more persons in District 184, d-1 St.Agathe and 577 more persons in District 186, e-1 Western Extension than are in the database presumably because those pages omitted from microfilming. We have included all pages from the microfilm for all sub-districts in Manitoba.

British Columbia and the Territories

All pages from the microfilm for B.C. and the Territories have been entered into the database. Some pages contained summary notes about native populations rather than a personal enumeration; these summary figures are reflected in the published 1881 totals but not in the database.

Last updated: 9/1/2010

Copyright © Département de démographie (UdeM)
All rights reserved

English
  Inscrivez-vous!
Mot de passe oublié?
Data Entry > < History

Fréquences

Fréquences des microdonnées par province

Province Dénombrement à partir
de la base de données
Totaux publiés *
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 108,911 108,891
Nouveau-Brunswick 321,248 321,233
Nouvelle-Écosse 440,560 440,572
Québec 1,358,650 1,359,027
Ontario 1,924,271 1,923,228
Manitoba 64,845 65,954
Colombie-Britannique 48,885 49,459
Territoires 10,978 56,446
Canada 4,278,348 4,324,810

*En comparaison avec les totaux publiés tirés du recensement du Canada, 1881, volume 1 (Ottawa : Maclean, Roger et al., 1882), tableau 1, Superficies, ménages, familles, population, sexe, statut matrimonial.

Note : le dénombrement de certains sous-districts dans la base de données du recensement canadien de 1881 est légèrement plus élevé que les totaux publiés dans les statistiques du recensement puisque, contrairement aux statistiques du recensement, la base de données tient compte des lignes qui ont été biffées par le recenseur.

Ontario :
La base de données contient 1 051 individus de plus que les statistiques du recensement de 1881 puisque dans 2 sous-districts ontariens, on retrouve 914 individus de plus dans la base de données que dans les statistiques agrégées ; il s'agit du sous-district f Newboro Village (district 110 Leeds South) et du sous-district i Hastings Village (district 123 Northumberland East).

Québec :
Les statistiques du recensement de 1881 comprennent 372 individus de plus vivants au Québec que la base de données de 1881. Ceci s'explique en grande partie parce que le sous-district de St-Siméon, dans le district de Charlevoix, n'a pas été microfilmé. (microfilm C-13209)

Manitoba :
Les statistiques du recensement de 1881 comptent 563 individus de plus dans le district 184 d-1 Ste-Agathe et 577 individus de plus au sein du district 186, e-1 Western Extension lorsque l'on compare avec la base de données et ce, parce que le microfilmage de ces pages a été omis. Toutes les pages microfilmées pour l'ensemble des sous-districts du Manitoba ont été incluses.

Colombie-Britannique et les Territoires :
La totalité des pages microfilmées pour la Colombie-Britannique et les Territoires a été entrée dans la base de données. Certaines pages fournissaient de brèves notes concernant des groupes autochtones plutôt que l'énumération d'individus. Ces notes ont été intégrées aux totaux publiés, mais elles ne sont pas prises en compte dans la base de données.

Dernière mise à jour: 20/8/2010

Copyright© Département de démographie (UdeM)
Tous les droits réservés.