Français
  Register!
Forgot your Password?

Contributors

This project is a team effort by many researchers and organizations, all of whom deserve considerable recognition!

Original Data Entry

Volunteers working with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (LDS) based in Utah have invested approximately 200,000 hours transcribing the manuscript population schedules of the 1881 Census of Population into a database. Since these data are worth about $1 a case to enter, their labours represent $4.3 million-worth of volunteer time. The LDS volunteers are to be congratulated for their dedication and their invaluable contribution to the genealogical and historical communities.

Consultation, Institutional Support and Project

The Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota, has provided our main funding for Phase II of the 1881 Canadian Census Project, through the North Atlantic Population Project. The principle investigator of NAPP is Steve Ruggles.

The Université de Montréal has contributed funds toward Phase II of the 1881 Canadian Census Project. Bertrand Desjardins, Researcher with le Programme de Recherche on DÉmographie Historique (PRDH) Département de démographie, is collaborating with the 1881 Canadian Census Project in providing expert guidance in data enhancement and delivery, including the refinement of French-language names. The "Département de Démographie" has set aside an office to use as a historical census laboratory.

The Director of the Institute of Canadian Studies, Chad Gaffield, provided invaluable leadership for Phase I of the 1881 project in defining our vision for this project, obtaining funding, setting aside facilities for project researchers at the Institute, meeting and discussing the project scope with LDS visitors and reviewing checking and cleaning priorities with Lisa Dillon.

Programming

The programmer for Phase I was University of Waterloo graduate David Klein. The programmer for Phase II of the 1881 Canadian Census Project is Denis Duval with the collaboration of Alexandre Hamelin-Purtell.

Project Labour, PHASE 1

The graduate student researchers employed in Phase I of the 1881 Canadian Census Project were:

  • Betsey Baldwin
  • Geraldine Cougnoux
  • Christine Dalton
  • Cheryl Desroches
  • Sean Foyn
  • Corrine Kennedy
  • Michelle Muir
  • Dan Yu

The Finding Aid to the 1881 Census of Canada was typed into an MS Excel file by University of Ottawa Canadian Studies student Karli Bergquist.

The Institute of Canadian Studies staff provided invaluable help during Phase I. The Institute Receptionist, Louise Verner, helped us to communicate with LDS collaborators; Administrative Assistant Houria Messadh guided the students' paperwork through the University administration and helped organize our meetings with LDS visitors; Information Technologies Co-ordinator Angela Mattiacci established the computers and arranged the network services necessary for managing the data.

Between January and September, 2001, the following volunteers checked data inconsistencies against the 1881 microfilm and entering single lines of missing data: Gary Bagley, Jim Cobben, Jill Dale, Mel Dillon, Barry Gilmour, Don Joy, Ruth Kirk, Sara Lytle, Stan Magwood, Bob Manchip, Bob Martin, Carol Martin, Patricia Roberts-Pichette, Madeleine Quinn, George Swift, Jim Stanzell, Gordon Taylor, Dorothy Tol, and Allan Topp. Several of these volunteers have come to the project through the Ontario Genealogical Society, Ottawa Branch, and the British Isles Family History Society.

Project Labour, PHASE 2

Refinement of the 1881 Canadian census data is now supervised by PRDH Projects Co-ordinator Alexandre Bujold, who first began work on the 1881 Census data as a research assistant in Phase 2 of the 1881 Canadian Census Project.

The graduate student researchers employed in Phase 2 of the 1881 Canadian Census Project were:

  • Samuel Rousseau
  • Édouard Nakouzi
  • Alexandre Bujold
  • France Normand
  • Josianne Doucet-Alarie
  • Sébastien Couvrette

International Collaboration

Cuong Nguyen and Ron Goeken from the Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota, devoted many hours to consulting on our project, tailoring the Minnesota 1880 Census Project programs to suit our data and helping Lisa Dillon and David Klein learn the programs. Matthew Woollard of the Department of History, University of Essex, and Senior Researcher on their 1881 Project, has provided guidance and support on various data matters.

Funds

The funding for Phase 1 came from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-days Saints as well as the University of Ottawa's Research Partnerships Programme. The time of Lisa Dillon during Phase 1 and Peter Kitchen during Phase 2 are paid by funds from the Harold J. Crabtree Foundation and by The Canadian Foundation for Innovation. The funding for Phase 2 is from a National Science Foundation-funded project of the Minnesota Population Center, The North Atlantic Population Project and the Université de Montréal.

Equipment

During Phase 1, the University of Ottawa's Morrisset Library lent the Institute of Canadian Studies a microfilm machine; this loan was organized by Ginette Mageau, Chief, Loan Services. The Latter-day Saints Family History Centre on Prince of Wales Drive, Ottawa, has lent us a second microfilm machine for Phase 1. This loan was organized by Patricia Trudel. Also, between September and December, 2000, the University of Ottawa Writing Centre provided our project with 5 gigabytes of storage space on their server, allowing students to store their files on a server which is shared among the various project computers. The Institute of Canadian Studies and the 1881 Census Project then together bought 30 gigabtyes of space on this server. Through its "Fonds d'Installation" program, the Université de Montréal, provided funds for the purchase of one computer for Phase 2 of the 1881 Canadian Census Project. The National Archives of Canada has loaned us a full set of 1881 Canadian census microfilm reels. This loan was arranged by Mary Munk.

Last updated: 9/1/2010

Copyright © Département de démographie (UdeM)
All rights reserved

English
  Inscrivez-vous!
Mot de passe oublié?

Contributions

Ce projet est le résultat d'un effort collectif de la part de nombreux chercheurs et organisations qui méritent tous qu'on souligne leur contribution

SAISIE DES DONNÉES

Les bénévoles de la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » de l'Utah ont consacré près de 200 000 heures de travail à la saisie des données manuscrites du recensement de 1881. Considérant que le coût de revient pour saisir une observation s'élève approximativement à 1 $, leurs efforts représentent 4,3 millions de dollars en temps fourni bénévolement. Leur dévouement et leur contribution à la communauté généalogique et historique mérite ainsi d'être souligné.

CONSULTATION, FINANCEMENT ET SOUTIEN INSTITUTIONNEL

Le financement de la phase 2 du Projet du recensement canadien de 1881 a été assuré en grande partie par le « Minnesota Population Center » de l' « University of Minnesota » et ce, par le truchement du « North Atlantic Population Project » dont Steve Ruggles est le chercheur principal.

L'Université de Montréal a également contribué au financement de la seconde phase du projet. Bertrand Desjardins , Chercheur agrégé au Département de démographie et Co-directeur du Programme de recherche en démographie historique (PRDH) a fourni son expertise afin d'améliorer les données. Ses judicieux conseils ont rendu possible le nettoyage et la standardisation des patronymes francophones. Le département de démographie a également mis à la disposition de l'équipe des locaux qui ont servis de laboratoire pour le projet.

À l'époque où il était directeur de l'Institut d'études canadiennes, Chad Gaffield a fait preuve d'un leadership exceptionnel dans le cadre de la phase 1 du projet du recensement de 1881. Il a su définir la vision globale du projet en plus d'obtenir du financement et de fournir des locaux appartenant à l'Institut aux chercheurs associés au projet. Il a également rencontré et discuté à maintes reprises avec les représentants de la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » de l'Utah et il a convenu, avec Lisa Dillon , des priorités en ce qui a trait au nettoyage des données.

PROGRAMMATION INFORMATIQUE

David Klein de l' « University of Waterloo » a été en charge du travail de programmation lors de la phase 1 du projet du recensement canadien de 1881. Les tâches de programmation de la phase 2 du projet ont été effectuées par Denis Duval avec la collaboration d' Alexandre Hamelin-Purtell.

LE TRAVAIL EFFECTUÉ DANS LE CADRE DE LA PHASE 1 DU PROJET

Les étudiants de deuxième cycle qui ont travaillé à la phase 1 du projet sont :

Betsey Baldwin
Geraldine Cougnoux
Christine Dalton
Cheryl Desroches
Sean Foyn
Corrine Kennedy
Michelle Muir
Dan Yu

Les données budgétaires du Projet du recensement canadien de 1881 ont été compilées dans un fichier Excel par Karli Bergquist , étudiante du programme d'études canadiennes à l'Université d'Ottawa

Les membres de l'équipe de l'Institut d'études canadiennes ont fourni une aide importante lors de la phase 1 du projet. La réceptionniste de l'Institut, Louise Verner , a facilité, à plusieurs reprises, les communications avec nos collaborateurs de la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » en Utah ; Houria Messadh , Adjointe administrative, s'est chargée de faire cheminer  les documents des étudiants à travers le dédale administratif de l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle a aussi contribué à organiser les rencontres avec les gens de la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » ; enfin, la Coordonnatrice à l'information et aux technologies, Angela Mattiacci , a établi le réseau informatique nécessaire à l'organisation et au traitement des données.

De janvier à septembre 2001, plusieurs bénévoles ont comparé les données saisies avec les données disponibles sur microfilms afin d'ajouter les informations manquantes. Ces bénévoles sont : Gary Bagley, Jim Cobben, Jill Dale, Mel Dillon, Barry Gilmour, Don Joy, Ruth Kirk, Sara Lytle, Stan Magwood, Bob Manchip, Bob Martin, Carol Martin, Patricia Roberts-Pichette, Madeleine Quinn, George Swift, Jim Stanzell, Gordon Taylor, Dorothy Tol et Allan Topp . Plusieurs de ces personnes se sont joints au projet par le biais de l' « Ontario Genealogical Society » de la région d'Ottawa et par la « British Isles Family History Society ».

LE TRAVAIL EFFECTUÉ DANS LE CADRE DE LA PHASE 2 DU PROJET

Le raffinement des données du recensement canadien de 1881 a été supervisé par le Coordonnateur de projet du PRDH, Alexandre Bujold, qui a d'abord travaillé à titre d'auxiliaire de recherche durant la phase 2 du projet.

Les étudiants de deuxième cycle qui ont travaillé à la phase 2 du projet sont :

Samuel Rousseau
Édouard Nakouzi
Alexandre Bujold
France Normand
Josianne Doucet-Alarie
Sébastien Couvrette

COLLABORATION INTERNATIONALE

Cuong Nguyen et Ron Goeken du « Minnesota Population Center » de l' « University of Minnesota », ont consacré de nombreuses heures à réfléchir et à discuter du Projet, à ajuster le programme du « Minnesota 1880 Census Project » afin qu'il soit adapté à nos données. Ils ont par la suite aidé Lisa Dillon et David Klein à se familiariser avec le logiciel. Matthew Woollard , du Département d'histoire de l' « University of Essex » et Chercheur senior dans le projet de 1881 a fourni son aide sur plusieurs aspects du projet dont la difficile codification des mentions socioprofessionnelles.

FINANCEMENT

La phase 1 a été financée par la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » et par l' « University of Ottawa's Research Partnership Program ». Les salaires de Lisa Dillon et de Peter Kitchen durant la phase 2 ont été couverts par des subsides provenant de la « Harold J. Crabtree Foundation » et par la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation. Le financement de la phase 2 du projet provient d'une demande de subvention d'équipe du « Minnesota Population Center » qui a permis la constitution du « North Atlantic Population Project ». L'Université de Montréal a également participé au financement de la phase 2 du projet qui s'est déroulé en son sein.

ÉQUIPEMENT

Lors de la phase 1, la bibliothèque Morrisset de l'Université d'Ottawa a prêté une lectrice de microfilms à l'Institut d'études canadiennes et ce, grâce à Ginette Mageau, Responsable du service des prêts. Le « Latter-day Saints Family History Center » d'Ottawa a prêté une seconde machine pour la phase 1 ; ce prêt est l'ouvre organisé de Patricia Trudel . De plus, entre septembre et décembre 2000, l' « University of Ottawa Writing Center » nous a fourni 5 giga-octets d'espace d'archivage sur leur serveur permettant ainsi aux étudiants de sauvegarder leurs fichiers afin qu'ils puissent être utilisés par plusieurs ordinateurs à la fois. L 'Institut d'études canadiennes et le Projet du recensement canadien de 1881 ont également acheté conjointement 30 giga-octets d'espace sur ce serveur. Via son programme de Fonds d'Installation, l'Université de Montréal a pu fournir un nouvel ordinateur pour la phase 2 du projet. Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada nous ont enfin prêté un lot complet de bobines microfilmées du recensement canadien de 1881. Ce prêt a été facilité par Mary Munk.

Dernière mise à jour: 20/8/2010

Copyright© Département de démographie (UdeM)
Tous les droits réservés.