Français
  Register!
Forgot your Password?

Work

Data Collection

During the 1990's, volunteers working with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Days Saints (LSD) based in Utah invested approximately 200,000 hours transcribing the manuscript population schedules of the 1881 Cencus of Population into a database. This work was undertaken as part of ongoing project to construct complete genealogical records for all LSD members.

Data Cleaning history / First Stage: University of Ottawa

From September, 2000, to September, 2001, The Institute of Canadian Studies, University of Ottawa, hosted Phase 1 of the 1881 Canadian Census Project. This phase involved a team of history graduate students and volunteers drawn from genealogical societies within the Ottawa area to conduct a series of cleaning and checking tasks to enhance the data. The team verified and corrected the geographic information contained in the file, eliminated duplicate cases, identified missing cases, and standardized the age, birthplace and origin fields for use in the LDS search engines. For this task, they referred to a cleaning manual. During this process, the students learned valuable research skills in the use of MS ACCESS and MS EXCEL in creating and refining historical microdatabases.

Volunteers from genealogical societies within the Ottawa area continued with checks on inconsistencies within the age, marital status and household position fields, and also inserted single lines of missing data into the file. They completed these checks for Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and the West. Previously missing data that had been transcribed by LDS members in Utah from February to June, 2001, has also been integrated into the 1881 database.

By September, 2001, the 1881 Canadian Census Project had completed the first phase of cleaning and checking for all provinces. The complete 1881 Canadian census file contains 4,278,387 records. In September, 2001, this data was sent to our Latter-Day Saints partners in Utah who then released the 1881 Canadian Census database as a genealogical index through The FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service.

The LDS have released the genealogical database containing the 1880 Census of the United States on CD-ROM; this data is also available via FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service. This database was cleaned and checked by our partners, the Minnesota Population Center.

Phase 1 was directed by Lisa Dillon, who at the time held the position of Research Co-ordinator, and Chad Gaffield, Director of the Institute of Canadian Studies. For more information regarding Phase 1 of the 1881 Canadian Census Project, please visit this link.

For further information about Phase 1 of the 1881 Canadian Census Project, please see:

Lisa Dillon. "International Partners, Local Volunteers and Lots of Data: The 1881 Canadian Census Project." History and Computing (forthcoming).

Lisa Dillon and Steven Ruggles. "Creating Historical Snapshots of North America in 1880/1: Collaboration between Historians and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints on the 1880/1 census databases of the United States and Canada." Genealogical Journal. Vol. 29, No. 3: 107-113.

Data cleanin history / Second stage: Université de Montréal

The headquarters of the 1881 Canadian Census Project is now located in the Département de Démographie at the Université de Montréal where project director, Lisa Dillon, has taken the position of assistant professor. Since the 1960s, the Département de Démographie has been host to a world-renowned research and teaching program in historical demography. With the inclusion of the Registre de la Population du Québec ancien (RPQA), a database comprising of more than 700,000 baptismal, marriage and death certificates registered before 1800, the Programme de Recherche en Démographie Historique (PRDH) directs its focus upon the historical censuses of Canada. Current additional components of the PRDH include the entire 1881 Census of Canada, as well as a 20% population sample drawn from the census of 1852. Thanks to the collaboration of Bertrand Desjardins, Aggregate Researcher and co-founder of the RPQA, phase 2 of this project has benefited greatly from the expertise acquired through the PRDH. This second phase was funded by the North Atlantic Population Project and a subsidy from the National Science Foundation. The initiative was orchestrated by Steven Ruggles, Director of the Minnesota Population Center and creator of the Integrated Public-Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) database, with the objective to successfully clean and refine the data for further use in social science research.

Status encoding: occupations

In 2002, research assistants Samuel Rousseau (Dépt. d'Histoire, Université de Montréal), Sarah Hayford (Dépt. de Démographie, Université de Montréal and Dept. of Demography, University of Pennsylvania) and Cheryl Desroches (Dept. of History, University of Ottawa) were hired to implement the codification of occupations recorded in the 1881 Canadian Census. To begin, they standardized occupations by eliminating erroneous characters (such as slashes, commas, periods or asterisks) as well as typos created during the data entry process. Any additional variations found within the data (such as abbreviations or added information) were left untouched. With this simple standardization pass, the numbers of unique occupational titles were reduced from 42,000 to approximately 24,000. An additional 4,000 occupational strings from the 1871 and 1901 Canadian census databases have also been incorporated into the file in order to enhance compatibility across census years.

Research assistant Cheryl Desroches (University of Ottawa) conducted the standardization and codification of the variables origin, religion and birthplace. Samuel Rousseau has edited the age variables and, under the guidance of Bertrand Desjardins, has also standardized French surnames which were especially poorly transcribed. Louis Duchesne, a research volunteer and employee at l'Institut de la statistique du Québec, conducted the standardization of first names as part of his own research on francophone names. These corrections and standardizations of names were necessary in order to construct household interrelationship variables, as well as to facilitate in future record linkage efforts.

In 2003, Alexandre Bujold (Dépt. d'histoire, Université de Montréal) was hired to work on checking tasks (such as the household number, name cleaning, and further checks in inconsistencies not previously undertaken). This work was finished by France Normand (Dépt. d'histoire, Université de Montréal) in the fall of 2004. The remaining 1881 tasks (imputing and inferring constructed variables) will be done in Minnesota, while the documentation will be written by Lisa Dillon and Evan Roberts with the help of the research assistants.

Last updated: 9/1/2010

Copyright © Département de démographie (UdeM)
All rights reserved

English
  Inscrivez-vous!
Mot de passe oublié?

Travail effectué

Collecte des données

Ce sont des bénévoles œuvrant au sein de la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » en Utah qui, grâce à près de 200 000 heures de travail, ont permit la transcription des informations du manuscrit du recensement canadien de 1881 dans une base de données. Ce travail s’inscrivait dans le cadre d’un projet de construction d’un registre destiné à poursuivre l’œuvre de reconstitution généalogique de l’ensemble des membres de cette Église.


Déroulement du nettoyage de la base de données/Première étape : l’Université d’Ottawa

La première phase du Projet du recensement canadien de 1881 s’est déroulée de septembre 2000 à septembre 2001 et a été prise en charge par l’Institut d’études canadiennes de l’ « University of Ottawa ». Un groupe composé d’étudiants diplômés en histoire et de bénévoles recrutés auprès des sociétés de généalogie de la région d’Ottawa ont entrepris la vérification et le nettoyage des microdonnées. À l’aide d’un manuel de nettoyage, ils ont vérifié et corrigé les références géographiques inscrites dans le fichier, éliminé les doublons, identifié les données manquantes en plus de standardiser l’âge, le lieu de naissance et l’origine. Ce travail a facilité l’utilisation conjointe de ces données et du moteur de recherche de l’Église. Cette étape a permis aux étudiants d’acquérir d’importantes habiletés en ce qui a trait à la création et au raffinement des bases de microdonnées historiques à l’aide des chiffriers ACCESS et EXCEL.

Les bénévoles des sociétés de généalogie de la région d’Ottawa ont également corrigé les incohérences qu’ils ont pu trouver dans les variables concernant l’âge, le statut matrimonial et l’ordre dans lequel l’individu a été recensé à l’intérieur du ménage. Ils ont aussi intégré à la base de données l’ensemble des lignes où il y avait absence de données . Au final, ils ont réussi à terminer le nettoyage pour l’Île-du-Prince-Edouard, la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Ontario, le Québec et les régions de l’Ouest. Enfin, les sections contenant des données manquantes, lesquelles ont été transcrites par les membres de la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » en Utah entre février et juin 2001, ont été intégrées à la base de données.

En septembre 2001, la vérification et le nettoyage des données ont été complétées pour toutes les provinces, ce qui mit un terme à la phase 1 du Projet du recensement canadien de 1881. Le fichier complet du recensement canadien de 1881 totalisait ainsi 4 278 387 observations. À la fin du mois de septembre 2001, nos partenaires de la « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » recevaient tous les fichiers pour l’ensemble des provinces canadiennes et ils étaient prêts à diffuser, peu de temps après, la base de données du recensement canadien de 1881 en tant qu’index généalogique sur le site FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service

La « Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints » a rendu accessible la base de données généalogique du recensement américain de 1880 sur CD-ROM. Son contenu est également disponible sur le site FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service. Ces données ont été vérifiées et nettoyées par nos partenaires du Minnesota Population Center.

La phase 1 de ce projet était supervisée par Lisa Dillon qui occupait à cette époque les fonctions de Coordonnatrice de recherche au sein de l’Institut d’études canadiennes. L’Institut d’études canadiennes était alors sous la direction de Chad Gaffield. Pour de plus amples informations concernant la phase 1 du Projet du recensement canadien de 1881, veuillez visiter le http://www.canada.uottawa.ca/1881.htm.

Pour plus d’informations sur la phase 1 du Projet du recensement canadien de 1881, vous pouvez également consulter :

Dillon, Lisa.  « International Partners, Local Volunteers and Lots of Data:  The 1881 Canadian Census Project. »  History and Computing (à paraître).

Dillon, Lisa et Steven Ruggles.  « Creating Historical Snapshots of North America in 1880/1: Collaboration between Historians and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on the 1880/1 Census Databases of the United States and Canada. » Genealogical Journal 29 (3): 107-113.


Déroulement du nettoyage de la base de données/Deuxième étape : l’Université de Montréal

Les bureaux du Projet du recensement canadien de 1881 sont dorénavant situés au Département de démographie de l’Université de Montréal où la directrice du projet, Lisa Dillon, occupe les fonctions de Professeure adjointe. Depuis les années 1960, le Département de démographie dispose d’un programme de recherche et d’enseignement dans le domaine de la démographie historique lequel jouit d’une renommée internationale. Incluant déjà les constituantes que sont le Registre de la population du Québec ancien (RPQA), une base de données réunissant plus de 700 000 actes de baptême, de mariage et de sépulture antérieurs à 1800, le Programme de recherche en démographie historique (PRDH) chapeaute également le volet intitulé « Les recensements historiques du Canada ». Cette autre constituante du PRDH comprend maintenant, outre l’intégralité du recensement canadien de 1881, un échantillon totalisant 20 % de la population tirée du recensement de 1852. Grâce à la collaboration de Bertrand Desjardins, Chercheur agrégé au Département de démographie et co-auteur du RPQA, la phase 2 du projet bénéficiera grandement de l’expertise acquise au sein du PRDH. La phase 2 de ce projet a été financée par le North Atlantic Population Project et par une subvention de recherche de la National Science Foundation. Initiative orchestrée par Steven Ruggles, Directeur du Minnesota Population Center et créateur de la base de données « Integrated Public-Use Microdata Series », l’objectif était de parvenir à raffiner le nettoyage de la base de données afin qu’elle puisse servir les fins de la recherche en sciences sociales.


La codification des professions

En 2002, 3 nouveaux auxiliaires de recherche s’ajoutaient à l’équipe. Samuel Rousseau (Département d’histoire de l’Université de Montréal), Sarah Hayford (Département de démographie de l’Université de Montréal et de l’Université de Pennsylvanie) et Cheryl Desroches (Département d’histoire de l’ « University of Ottawa » étaient ainsi embauchés pour raffiner le nettoyage des microdonnées du recensement canadien de 1881. Dans un premier temps, ils ont procédé à la standardisation des professions en éliminant toutes les erreurs typographiques (virgules, points et astérisques) qui avaient pu se glissées lors de la saisie des données. Toutefois, toutes les autres variations (les abréviations et les informations superflues) ont été inchangées. Grâce à cette simple standardisation des professions, le nombre de celles-ci est passé de 42 000 à près de 24 000. Par la suite, nous avons ajouté à la base de données plus de 4000 chaînes de caractères touchant les professions tirées des bases de données des recensements canadiens de 1871 et 1901. Nous nous assurions ainsi de la comparabilité des données d’un recensement à l’autre.

Cheryl Desroches, de l’Université d’Ottawa, a standardisé et codé les variables liées à l’origine, à la religion et au lieu de résidence. Samuel Rousseau a révisé la variable relative à l’âge et il a également, suivant les conseils de Bertrand Desjardins en la matière, réalisé la standardisation des noms de famille francophones qui avaient été transcrits de façon erronée à l’étape de la saisie des données. Louis Duchesne, un chercheur travaillant pour l’Institut de la statistique du Québec, a standardisé, quant à lui, les prénoms dans le cadre de ses recherches personnelles portant sur les noms francophones. Cette étape de correction des noms était incontournable étant donné notre volonté de créer des variables précisant les relations de parenté entre les individus à l’intérieur d’un même ménage. Il fallait également effectuer ce travail afin de faciliter la tâche subséquente d’appariement des individus.

En 2003, Alexandre Bujold (Département d’histoire de l’Université de Montréal) est engagé afin de compléter la phase avancée du nettoyage des données telle que l’allocation du numéro de maison et les autres vérifications n’ayant pas encore fait l’objet d’un nettoyage. À l’automne 2004, France Normand (Département d’histoire de l’Université de Montréal) termine cette partie du travail. Les dernières étapes consisteront à effectuer les tâches menant à l’inférence automatique des relations de parenté à l’intérieur des ménages. Elles seront en partie effectuées par nos collègues du Minnesota alors que la documentation sera rédigée, avec l’aide de quelques auxiliaires de recherche, par Lisa Dillon et Evan Roberts.

Dernière mise à jour: 20/8/2010

Copyright© Département de démographie (UdeM)
Tous les droits réservés.